The Church of the Pilgrimage of St. John of Nepomuk

(Žďár nad Sázavou) The most prominent monument is the Church of the Pilgrimage of St. John of Nepomuk situated on the Green Hill. The church was built in the spirit of the ?Baroque Gothic? between 1719 and 1722, according to the design of architect Jan Blažej Santini. Due to its original Czech Baroque Gothic and the masterful composition of the building with the symbolic St. John?s pentagram, it was listed among UN

The Historical Centre of the City of Telč

The Historical Centre of the City of Telč is unique for its architectural coherence. The vast majority of the arcades and facades of its buildings were built acording to a unified design. The historical heart of the city is enclosed by ponds and gates, which allowed for the preservation of the city's distinct appearance over the centuries, dating back to the period of Zacharias of Hradec. The

Telč Chateau

The chateau's basic sightseeing tour introduces visitors to the original Gothic section of the chateau and its grandiose halls—the Modrý (Blue), Zlatý (Gold), Rytířský (Knight's), Divadelní (Theatre), and Císařský (Imperial) Halls—with their well-preserved wooden coffered ceilings, priceless furnishings, and a rich collection of weapons and paintings. The second route tours the resi

The Třebíč Jewish Quarter

The Třebíč Jewish Quarter is the only Jewish monument outside of Israel that has been inscribed independently to the UNESCO World Heritage list. The territory on the left shore of the Jihlava River was settled by a primarily Jewish population as early as the Middle Ages. The gradual population increase in this confined area enclosed by the river and steep, rocky cliffs, without the possibility

St Prokopious Basilica Trebic

(Třebíč) Formerly consecrated in the name of the Virgin Mary, this abbey was built beginning in the first half of the 13th century as part of a Benedictine monastery, established in 1101. The basilica is a jewel of medieval construction of European-wide importance. It is built in the Romanesque-Gothic style. The church suffered considerably during the siege of Třebíč by the Hungarian troops of Matthias

The Jewish Quarter Třebíč

One of the oldest and most important centres of of Jewish settlement in Bohemia is located in the city of Třebíč. Besides Jerusalem, the Jewish monuments in Třebíč are the only that have been inscribed on their own to the UNESCO World Cultural and Natural Heritage List (in 2003). This uniquely preserved Jewish quarter—the largest complex of preserved Jewish monuments in the Czech Republic

Rear Synagogue Třebíč

The Rear Synagogue was built in 1669, or shortly thereafter. The Jewish town sought to expand the synagogue, which the ruling nobility not only rejected in 1693, but also ordered its demolition. Despite this fact, instead of complete demolition, "only" the roof was torn down, and the entire structure fell into disrepair. In 1705, the Jewish town applied to the new owners of the estate, Count Johan

Front Synagogue Třebíč

The Front Synagogue was most likely built in 1639–1642. It has been repaired and renovated numerous times, such as the reconstruction after an extensive fire in 1821. Roughly 200 years later, in 1856–1857, the area saw its largest construction activity, once again after a large fire. The synagogue was renovated in the Neo-Gothic style we see today. Since the 1950s, the Front Synagogue has

Synagogue Nová Cerekev

Built in 1855, the synagogue is one of the most interesting Jewish buildings in the Vysočina Region, and is the only surviving example of its type in Central Europe. It was built by Štěpán Walser. This Neo-Romanesque structure with Moorish elements is located in the northern part of the city, approximately 200 m from the main town square. At first glance, the synagogue captivates w

Regional Jewish Museum – Synagogue Polná

The old synagogue stood in the Dolní město (Lower Town) in 1675. After the development of the Jewish town at the so-called "Horní město" ("Upper Town"), the ruling nobility had a brand new stone and brick domed synagogue built. After its numerous fires, it was always rebuilt. The only surviving original Baroque elements of the synagogue are four characteristic elongated arched windows and a fr

Regional Jewish Museum: Rabbinical House Polná

In 1717, the addition of a another floor to the house neighbouring the synagogue created a Jewish community centre with a residence for the shammes (beadle) and a scullery with a matzo bakery and an entrance to the ritual bath in the cellar. The first floor housed the rabbi's residence, town offices, and rabbinical chapel (winter prayer hall) with 30 seats. Between 1785 and 1850, it also housed a

Monuments of Jewish Settlements in Vysočina

Jews began arriving in Vysočina in the early Middle Ages. They settled in locations of important markets, on the crossroads of long-distance trade routes, and near royal residences. They were subordinate directly to the ruler, and were forced to pay considerable sums for permission to settle in a specific location. For centuries, they were a people living on the fringes of the societal hierarchy.

Třebíč

Třebíč was once a significant Moravian Jewish cultural centre, as is evidenced by the uniquely preserved quarter. The first written mention of the presence of Jews in Třebíč appeared in 1338, and later also in the early 15th century. At the time, several families lived here in various locations across the city, but there is no specific information on the number of Jewish residents or the Jew

In the Footsteps of Abbots and Rabbis Educational Trail

(Třebíč) The UNESCO monuments in Třebíč are linked by an educational trail that introduces visitors to about the most interesting locations around the Jewish town, Jewish cemetery, as well as St Procopius Christian basilica. It reveals glimpses of the lives of the religious communities that have lived side by side for centuries here.

Telč

In the late 1600s, the Jewish community in Telč resided primarily on Židovská and Hradební ulice Streets in houses that adjoined the city ramparts, which was also the location of the synagogue. The synagogue, however, was damaged in a fire in 1885. It was adapted after the war, and now serves other functions. During the course of the 19th century, the Jewish population in Telč experienced a s

Gustav Mahler House Jihlava

Shortly after the birth of Gustav Mahler, his entire family moved from Kaliště to Jihlava, where the future composer spent his childhood and youth. The house where he grew up features an exposition titled "Gustav Mahler a Jihlava" ("Gustav Mahler and Jihlava"). The exposition is divided into several sections that capture Mahler's youth, musical opus, and later interactions with Jihlava. In

Jihlava

Jewish settlement in Jihlava can be dated to shortly after the foundation of the city itself, in the mid-13th century. The eclipse of Jewish quarter, including the synagogue and cemetery, took place following the expulsion of the Jews from the city in 1426. Jewish families dispersed from here to the surrounding towns and small cities. The more recent Jewish town functioned here beginning

Pelhřimov Museum of Records and Curiosities

The museum is located in a five-storey square gatehouse, 36 metres tall, that was built in the 1500s as part of the city's fortifications. The tower's clock is from the 17th century. The museum is run by the Agentura Dobrý den agency, which is the author of Czech contributions to the Guinness Book of World Records. The museum is home to approximately 100 unusual items created by the artistry, end

Vysočina Museum Jihlava

The exhibits of this museum that was founded in 1892 are located in two architecturally valuable Renaissance buildings on Jihlava's main square. In its heyday, the building on the right (no. 58), substantially reconstructed in 1580–1590, was one of the most magnificent patrician buildings in the area, best illustrated by the beautiful two-storey vestibule with an arcade gallery resting Tuscan co

Chateau and Vysočina Museum

(Třebíč) The museum's history is related to the ethnographic exposition that took place in Prague in 1895, for which exhibition items were collected from the Třebič region as well. The museum is located in the former Wallenstein chateau, reconstructed in the 1500s from a former Benedictine monastery that was founded in 1101. After being closed for three years for comprehensive renovations of th

Jaroslav Hašek Memorial

(Lipnice nad Sázavou) Humourist and satirist Jaroslav Hašek (1883–1923) was brought to Lipnice nad Sázavou in 1921 by his friend, academic painter Jaroslav Panuška. The exhibit is located in the house beneath the castle in which Hašek lived out his final years and where he wrote his most famous work, Osudy dobrého vojáka Švejka (The Good Soldier Švejk). Dedicated to Hašek's residence and work in this city, t

Permanent Exhibit Dedicated to Jan Kubiš and Other Victims of the Nazi Occupation

(Dolní Vilémovice) A permanent exhibit dedicated to famous native Jan Kubiš and other victims of the Nazi occupation is located in the house where Jan Kubiš once lived. The relatively quiet life of the town was interrupted by the events related to the assassination of acting Reichsprotektor, chief of the Reich Main Security Office, SS-obergruppenfuhrer, and police general, Reinhard Heydrich. The turning po

CHKO Železné hory Mountains Protected Landscape Area

(Chotěboř) The Železné hory Mountains unfold over an area of over 600 km2. In 1991, a protected landscape area by the same name was declared in the central section of the mountain range with the aim of not only protecting the current natural landscape, but also to gradually restore lost landscape value. The CHKO Železné hory Mountains Protected Landscape Area covers an area of 284 km2. The tallest peaks

CHKO Žďárské vrchy Hills Protected Landscape Area

(Žďár nad Sázavou) The Žďárské vrchy Hills is without a doubt the most naturally diverse part of the Českomoravské vrchoviny Highlands with countless points of interest for tourists and numerous cultural monuments. The landscape alternates between meadows, pastures, fields, forests, and ponds, and is interlaced with an irregular network of boundary mounds, sunken lanes, small forests and groups of trees. The

Babylon Lookout Tower

(Kramolín) Babylon is one of the oldest lookout towers in Moravia, built in 1831 on the behest of Count Jindřich Vilém Haugwitz on Zelený kopec Hill (491 metres above sea level) near Kramolín for the use of land surveyors. The ceiling of the observation room of the large stone lookout tower is decorated with zodiac motifs. The reward for conquering its 105 original oak stairs are views of the Českomorav

Karasín Lookout Tower

(Bystřice nad Pernštejnem) The lookout tower is a new natural dominating feature of the Bysřice nad Pernštejnem area. Opened in 2002, the lookout was built at an elevation of 707 metres above sea level, and is one of few that serves solely as a tourist attraction. The observation gallery, which can be accessed by climbing 128 stairs, provides views of the Žďárské vrchy Hills, Bystřice nad Pernštejnem, Vítochov with

Pípalka Lookout Tower

(Pelhřimov) The lookout tower stands atop Křemešník, an important pilgrimage site with the Holy Trinity Church, at an elevation of 765 meters above sea level. A total of 205 stairs lead to its top level, and during favourable weather, one can see Lipnice and Roštejn castles, Černík, Špičák, and Javořice hills, the Žďárské vrchy Hills, and even the Krkonoše Mountains and Šumava. Descriptions on

Rosička Lookout Tower

(Sázava) The lookout tower was built in 2001 as a construction project for a telecommunication tower near the town of Sázava u Žďáru over the Sázava River atop Rosnička Hill (645 metres above sea level). A total of 140 stairs lead to the top of this tower, which is built to withstand winds of up to 200 km/h. From here, visitors can see the Žďárské vrchy Hills, the Sázava River area, the Železn

Lookout Tower on Pekelný kopec Hill

(Třebíč) Since 2014, Pekelný kopec Hill as been adorned with a new lookout tower that symbolically references Třebíč UNESCO monuments. Its construction incorporates both the element of Judaism (the ground plan of two combined squares is reminiscent of the Star of David) as well as the connection with the St Procopious Basilica (according to legend, the devil was flung onto Pekelný kopec Hill by St Pro

Bernard Family Brewery

(Humpolec) The oldest surviving record of burgher beer brewing in Humpolec dates back to 1371. At that time, however, this entailed brewing beer in individual burgher houses. The era of burgher beer brewing ended in 1597, when it was replaced by beer production at the nearby Herálec estate. Later, when the estate was sold to cover the owner's debts and was purchased by Hungarian aristocrat Jakub, baron of

Dalešice Stock Brewery

The Dalešice brewery is linked to one of the most famous Czech films: Postřižiny (Cutting it Short), by director Jiří Menzel. It was here that Magda Vašáryová and Jaromír Hanzlík climbed the smoke stack, and it was here that the governing board met and feasted with Rudolf Hrušinský at the head of the table. First mention of the local brewery dates back to the late 16th century

Jihlava Zoological Gardens

Located in the picturesque Jihlávka River Valley approximately 10 minutes from the city centre on foot, Zoo Jihlava is divided into five different continents. All five continents can be visited within a single day. The zoo was founded in 1958, and is known for its rare animal breeding programmes. Children can take advantage in the unique play area that features a petting zoo. One of the zoo's big

Šikl's Mill Western Town

(Zvole) Šikland is a complex of three entertainment centres with the broadest rage of services and entertainment in the Czech Republic. The largest is the Šiklův mlýn (Šikl's Mill) complex in Zvole nad Pernštejnem, famous as a western town, as well as the Draxmoor haunted chateau and Fotopark Krokodýl in Dolní Rožnice. The Šiklův mlýn wild west town is an amusement park in the Bobrůvka River

EDEN centre

(Bystřice nad Pernštejnem) After years of deterioration, the dilapidated Bystřice Mittrovský estate has finally been completely renovated, and will now function as a centre in which visitors can learn what life and work used to be like in the country. It is a unique project whose aim is to create a one-of-a-kind centre in a European context for eco-tourism, learning, and education that will continue to support and strengt



Jewish Cemetery Humpolec

The local cemetery is situated outside of the city o Humpolec, not far from Orlík Castle. It was established in the early 18th century and served the surrounding Jewish towns as well (Kaliště, Lipnice, Želiv, etc.). It was later expanded twice. Roughly 1,000 valuable Baroque and Classicist heads

The Empire synagogue Třešť

After a fire in 1824 that destroyed the Třešť Jewish ghetto, an Empire-style synagogue was built thanks to the financial support of Isaac Wiesenwald and a public collection. The synagogue is located north of Náměstí T. G. Masaryka Square on Ulice Franze Kafky Street. It is the only one in the

Polná

Documented evidence of a Jewish community in Polná dates back to the 15th century. However, the community was not allowed to build in the city until the second half of the 17th century. The ghetto and synagogue were established in 1681–1685, and its state of preservation, comprehensiveness, and i

Jewish Cemetery Kamenice nad Lipou

The Jewish cemetery in Kamenice nad Lipou is situated on the edge of town. This locale offers a beautiful view of the surrounding landscape. The cemetery was founded in 1803, and there are approximately 150 surviving gravestones that originated in the first half of the 19th century. Some are in the

Synagogue Humpolec

The first Jews came to Humpolec in 1681, and their community gradually grew. In 1724, however, there was still no independent synagogue or school, so residents used the local potash production facilities for these purposes. In 1754, the Jewish town requested a construction permit for a maso

New Synagogue Velké Meziříčí

Construction on the Neo-Gothic New Synagogue was completed in 1870 on the designs of Viennese architect Augustin Prokop. Its distinctive appearance originates from the use of red brickwork, and the front facade features two Hebrew inscriptions. It is currently serves other functions. A thi

Old Synagogue Velké Meziříčí

The Old Synagogue, with its original, priceless Classicist portal that dates back to the 1500s, was historically restored, and was used for organising expositions. The women's gallery hosted the "Magen David" museum exposition, which illustrated the history of the local Jewish population.

Jewish Cemetery Velké Meziříčí

In 1650, the Jewish community bought a plot of land for 60 florins in order to establish a cemetery. The cemetery includes a Neo-Romanesque ceremonial hall and over 1,300 graves with headstones. The oldest legible headstone is from 1677. The cemetery was used until the Second World War.

Jewish Cemetery Humpolec

The local cemetery is situated outside of the city o Humpolec, not far from Orlík Castle. It was established in the early 18th century and served the surrounding Jewish towns as well (Kaliště, Lipnice, Želiv, etc.). It was later expanded twice. Roughly 1,000 valuable Baroque and Classicist h

The Jewish Typhoid Cemetery Havlíčkův Brod

Approximately 1.5 km north of Havlíčkův Brod (past the cemetery) lies a truly unique Jewish monument. In the centre of a field stands an island of tall trees that have been planted in perpendicular rows creating alleyways in the shape of a cross. The remaining area is filled with shorter, more de

Moravské Budějovice

The first mention of Jews in Moravské Budějovice dates back to the 14th century. The medieval Jewish quarter with its synagogue and cemetery faded out after the expulsion of the Jews from the city in 1564. Modern settlements here were recorded beginning in the 19th century. After the war, the Art

Police

The first families came to Police most likely during the course of the 16th century. The oldest written record from 1671 states that Jewish settlers came to Police from Vienna. However, even here, the growing Jewish population was subject to the resentment of the local residents, so in 1728, the Jew

Jewish Cemetery Telč

The Jewish cemetery was built in the second half of the 19th century. Until then, Jews in the Telč region were buried in the cemetery in the nearby town of Velký Pečín. The Telč Jewish cemetery is situated on the southeastern edge of town, a short distance from Staroměstský Pond. The cemetery

Synagogue Telč

The Telč synagogue was built in the Neo-Romanesque style in 1904. It served the Jewish town until the Second World War, when its interior furnishings were completely destroyed by the Nazis. After the war had ended, the building became the property of the city, which modified it for its own use, and

Třešť

The first traces of a Jewish population in Třešť, where they settled after their expulsion from Jihlava, dates back to the 1400s. After a decree issued by Count Ferdinand Ernst Herberstein in the second half of the 17th century, all of the residents of the Jewish town were forced to relocate to

The Jewish cemetery Třešť

The Jewish cemetery in Třešť, which lies on the southern edge of the city, was established some time around the mid-17th century. The cemetery has over a thousand Baroque- and Classicist-style gravestones, the oldest of which dates 1705, and belongs to Rachel, daughter of Geršon. During the Seco

Gustav Mahler Park Jihlava

Gustav Mahler Park is a remembrance of the world-renowned musical composer Gustav Mahler, as well as a reminder of the history of the area. It was once the location of a synagogue, which was burned to the ground by the Nazis. It is memorialised by its exposed foundations. A dominant featur

Golčův Jeníkov

The roots of Jewish settlement in this town allegedly reach back to the 12th century. First written evidence, however, comes from the Berní rula (a tax cadastre) from the year 1654. Over the course of the centuries, the Jewish community expanded, and in the first half of the 18th century, it was ho

Jewish Cemetery Světlá nad Sázavou

Up until 1886, burials took place at the so-called "old cemetery" established in 1742. The gravestones from this cemetery were removed during the Nazi occupation. The local Jewish cemetery was established in 1887. The Nový Hřbitov (New Cemetery) was founded in 1887, with approximately 170 survivin

Ledeč nad Sázavou

The historical presence of a Jewish community in Ledeč nad Sázavou is evidenced by surviving monuments, such as its Jewish cemetery and synagogue. 1942 was a fateful year for the Ledeč Jewish population as well, when the Jewish town was abandoned due to the deportation of Jewish citizens to conce

Assumption of the Virgin Mary Dean's Cathedral Polná

The Assumption of the Virgin Mary dean's cathedral was built in 1700–1707 on the designs of Italian architect Dominik de Angeli. Its furnishings and decorations are comparable to episcopal cathedrals. The interior is richly decorated with the stucco work of Florentine artists, and its Sieber organ

Our Lady Monastery and Sts Peter and Paul Church

(Nová Říše) The Premonstratensian monastery was originally a women's convent, founded in 1211. The monastery's current appearance is the result of reconstructions that took place in the mid-1500s and early 1800s. The most significant feature is the monastery library with ceiling frescoes and 15,500 volumes. The

Holy Trinity Pilgrimage Church Křemešník

(Vyskytná) The origin of the pilgrimage site on Křemešník Hill (765 metres above sea level) is linked with the periodic spring of mildly radioactive water that flows through argentiferous ore. It is thought that the former wooden chapel was built in 1555 on the behest of a Pelhřimov townsman as a sign of h

Premonstrate Monastery Želiv

The town of Želiv is located near the junction of the Želivka and Trnava Rivers, ten kilometers from the city of Humpolec. Želiv's dominant feature is the local Premonstrate Monastery, one of Vysočina's oldest centers of civilization. The monastery was founded in 1139 by Benedictine monks. Ten y

Michalův statek Farm Open-Air Museum

(Pohleď) Michalův statek Farm was declared a cultural monument in 2003. The open-air museum depicts the life, work, and customs of a middle-class husbandman during the period following the end of the Thirty Years' War until the abolition of statute labour in 1848. The Michal family owned this farm from 1591

Zichpil Open-Air Museum

(Humpolec) The Zichpil Quarter and the Jewish town in Humpolec are located between Horní náměstí Square and the cemetery. Jews began to settle outside of the city of Humpolec in this area in the late 17th century. The name of the location, Zichpil, however, is proven to be much older, though there was no c

Jakub Glassworks Tasice

(Česká Bělá) The town of Tasice is home to the Huť Jakub glassworks facility, made famous by Jaroslav Dietl's television series "Synové a dcery Jakub skláře" ("The Sons and Daughters of Glass-blower Jakub"). The unique glassworks facility was preceded by 15th-century glassmaking furnaces that processed quart

Ubušinek Folk Architecture Complex

(Ubušínek) This town east of Jimramov is evidence of the beautiful folk architecture of our forefathers. It includes structures built out of wood, stone, and even unfired bricks that are protected under the area's designation as a rural conservation zone. The hill with the unusual name of Hrombitek measures 70

Krátká Rural Conservation Reserve

(Kadov) The village of Krátká, a district of the township of Sněžná, emerged in the first third of the 18th century as a residential colony of forestry workers. The town, which has been declared a rural conservation reserve, boasts timbered and stone houses with agricultural outbuildings. It is dominat

Křižánky Folk Architecture Complex

This town in the heart of Žďárské vrchy Hills, with its 45 cultural monuments, is the largest rural conservation reserve in the Vysočina Region. The Svratka River bisects it into two sections: České Křižánky (Bohemian Křižánky), which was established prior to the first half of the 14th

Dešov Rural Conservation Reserve

The first mention of this town is dated 1398. In the 1400s, the local fortress was inhabited by freemen, and the Kaple Panny Marie Bolestné (Chapel of Our Lady of Sorrows) from 1781 is a valuable monument. The Dešov settlement has a street-type layout, with the houses' frontages facing the street.

Telč Steam Mill

Now, anyone who sets out from Telč's city centre past the Staroměstský rybník Pond in the direction of Oslednice has the opportunity to visit a new point of interest: the steam mill, which was declared a protected monument. This recently-opened location features a reconstructed water turbine and

Třebíč Windmill

The so-called "Dutch-style" Třebíč windmill is an integral part of the Třebíč Kanciborek district. The mill stands on the crossing of the Jihlava – Třebíč railroad line, and is clearly visible from the road. Formerly a wooden structure, the mill was later reconstructed using stone and bri

Slakhamr, Hamry nad Sázavou

Šlakhamr is located in the picturesque Sázava River Valley in the town of Hamry nad Sázavou. The former water mill underwent expensive renovations. It now features new exhibits that illustrate the rich ironworking tradition of the Žďár Region. The development of ironworking on the Bohemian-Mor

Single-Arched Stone Bridge Velké Meziříčí

One of the notable landmarks of the city is this old road structure. It is a single-arched stone bridge built for approximately 8,000 florins in 1593 by the builder Antonín Vlach across the deep Radslavický Stream Valley. The bridge survived war and other calamities, and served its function until

Medieval Tunnel Přibyslav

At the base of the rocky cliffs that loom over the Sázava River, below the local rectory, lies a well-preserved adit. It originated during the period when silver and later iron ore were being mined in the area surrounding the city. According to legend, it is also thought that it may have been used

Museum of Brtnice and its Area From Times Long Past to Recent History

The "Brtnické stezky – přírodou ke kulturní promenádě" ("Brtnice Trails: A Cultural Promenade Through Nature") also includes a museum exposition in the Valdštejský dům (Wallenstein House, stop no. 8, information centre) titled "Z dávných i nedávných dob Brtnice a okolí" ("Brtnice and

Třešť Nativity Scenes: Friends of Nativity Scenes Association Permanent Exhibit

Třešť is rightfully known as the "city of nativity scenes." It boasts folk woodcarving artistry whose beauty can be admired year-round in the museum housed in the Dům J. A. Schumpetera (J. A. Schumpeter House). Each year throughout the entire Christmas season (from 26 December until 2 February

Třešť Nativity Scenes: Friends of Nativity Scenes Association Permanent Exhibit

Třešť is rightfully known as the "city of nativity scenes." It boasts folk woodcarving artistry whose beauty can be admired year-round in the museum housed in the Dům J. A. Schumpetera (J. A. Schumpeter House). Each year throughout the entire Christmas season (from 26 December until 2 February

Chadim's Mill – Mill Museum

(Horní Dubenky) The first record of the mill is dated 1508. It houses mill equipment from 1926 as well as the original Francis turbine that powered the mill and its saw (the saw, however, has not survived). Currently, there is a Czech milling assemblage, and the exhibit is complemented by period agricultural tools.

Antonín Sova History Museum, Pacov

The municipal museum was founded by historian, progressive thinker, and secondary school professor Ferdinand Pakosta in 1908. The museum experienced a renewed flourishing under the voluntary curatorship of Jan Zoubek, who, in collaboration with Přemysl Plaček, created new exhibits, expanded the mu

Gustav Mahler House, Jihlava

The origins of the house are rooted in the 16th century. This house, where Gustav Mahler's family lived from 1860 to 1889 now hosts the exposition "Mladý Gustav Mahler a Jihlava" ("Young Gustav Mahler and Jihlava"). It features the works of artist and fashion designer Thea Weltner, a relative of Gu

Vysočina Museum, Pelhřimov

The museum expositions are housed in three historic buildings in the chateau of the lords of Říčany, in the so-called "Šrejnarovský dům" (Šrejnar House) and the former jailhouse. The original Renaissance chateau was built in the mid-1500s, most likely in place of a Gothic tower-like structure

Castle Ledeč nad Sázavou Municipal Museum

The castle from the first half of the 13th was renovated over the course of its life in the Renaissance and Baroque styles, with the last renovation taking place after the fire in 1879. Many structural architectural elements have survived, such as the cylindrical tower, the Renaissance loggia, and t

Museum of Monsters Pelhřimov

The exposition is located in the cellars of a historical burgher house on the town square, home to Galerie M. Exponáty strašidel (Gallery M., Monster Exhibit) featuring monsters from legends and tales from Vysočina. The figures are made primarily from wax and are life-sized.

Municipal Museum in Svratka

The first museum exposition in Svratka originated in 1940. In 2001, a group of enthusiasts founded the Občanské sdružení Svratecká jizba (Svratka Rustic Room Civic Association), whose aim was to aid in the revitalisation of the museum and search for items to expand its collections. Currently, t

Jan Zrzavý Memorial Hall

(Krucemburk) The memorial hall presents the life and work of academic painter Jan Zrzavý (1890–1977). This native of nearby Okrouhlice had a great love for the everything the area had to offer; he visited relatives here during his summer holidays from the time he was a child, and called Krucemburk the "měste

Poet Antonín Sova Memorial

(Lukavec) The memorial is located in a five-sided, two-storey garden house, built in the 18th century in the chateau complex. The poet's family lived here for a short period following a widespread fire in the city in 1866. During his studies, young Sova spent his holidays here, and returned often as an adult.

Austro-Hungarian Beer Brewing Museum Dalešice

The beer brewery in Dalešice was most likely founded as early as the end of the 16th century. Today's Dalešice joint-stock brewery still houses parts of the original beer producing equipment from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Interesting items on display include a functional steam engine.

Municipal Museum and Otokar Březina Birth House Počátky

Founded in 1892, the municipal museum in Počátky is the oldest in the the region. In 1997, after 14 years of renovation, the museum opened a permanent exhibit. It offers an interesting look at the interior architecture of a 1500s burgher house, which is particularly evident in the cellar spaces. T

Horácká Gallery Nové Město na Moravě

Founded in 1964, the gallery has resided in the chateau since 1972. The former Renaissance chateau was built right after the mid-16th century, most likely still during the reign of the Pernštejns, and underwent renovations in 1588 by Vilém Dubský of Třebomyslice. In 1643, it was plundered by the

Luka nad Jihlavou Museum

Visitors have the opportunity to view documents on the history of this town, its cultural monuments, social life in the town, the history of the railroad, as well as information about the local Widmann family chateau. The museum has a fully-furnished country kitchen, original furniture from rural ab

Gallery M Pelhřimov

The gallery regularly hosts shows by a diverse range of artists. It is located in a historical burgher house, whose construction was influenced by Italian Renaissance architecture, and is decorated with envelope sgraffito. The house was once the seat of the royal burgrave, and its passageway bears t

Hall of Jimramov Natives

The permanent exhibit presenting the town's history and its most prominent figures (the Mrštík brothers, Jan Karafiát, Karel Slavíček, M. J. Sychra, František Žemlička, Čeněk Dobiáš, Bohuslav Kozák) is located in the Horní škola u sv. Jana (Upper School by St John) building. In 2002,

Žďár nad Sázavou Regional Museum

The late-Gothic fortress, which has been mentioned in sources as early as 1300, is now renovated, and has been the home of the Regional Museum since 1993. The museum does not have any permanent exhibits. Instead, it alternates various exhibits featuring regional topics, art exhibits, educational exh

Vysočina Regional Gallery

(Jihlava) The Oblastní galerie Vysočiny in Jihlava owns fine art collections from the 19th, 20th, and now even the 21st centuries. It is located in two historically significant Renaissance buildings that are cultural monuments. The building on the lower end of Masarykovo náměstí Square houses a

Telč House

Upon entrance to house no. 31, you will find yourself in a land of legends, elves, and historical narratives in an entirely original presentation created by the artists Mrs Anna Hanzlová snr, her daughter, and Mr Julek Žembery. The ceramic figures are installed in the monumental cellar area th

Firehouse Municipal Gallery Telč

The Hasičský dům gallery stands in the location of a Gothic gate with a Renaissance facade that closed off the entrance to today's U Masných krámů Street. The meat shops were torn down, and in 1870, a fire station was built in their place for the newly-established volunteer fire brigade.

Vysočina Museum Jihlava, Telč Branch

Founded in 1897, the museum in Telč resides in the southwest wing of a chateau. The permanent exhibits present documents from the history of the city and its surrounding area from the early Middle Ages to present day. On display are festive Horácko folk costumes and a collection of wedding banners

Old Polná School Exposition

The exposition documenting the history of the education system from the mid-1700s to the end of the 1800s is housed in a building with a Baroque facade that has been declared a cultural monument. The fully-furnished classroom setup dates from 1866, and, in addition to the historical furnishings, it

Golden Bohemian Hands Exposition

(Pelhřimov) In the "Golden Bohemian Hands" exposition, visitors have the opportunity to admire unique items made from matchsticks: guitars, violins, mandolins, Corinthian vases, and mirror frames. The items are the work of a single artist, Mr Tomáš Korda, who, over the course of 40 years, put in 63,000 hours

Gallery of Vysočina Painters

(Svratka) The Galerie malířů Vysočiny exhibits the works of the classic figures of Vysočina landscape painting, as well as those of other artists tied to the Svratka area: František Kaván, Cína Jelínek, Jindřich and Ota Bubeníček, Josef and Zdeněk Fialový, Josef Jambor, Rudolf Hanych, Jindřich

Small Museum of Small Motorcycles

(Bystřice nad Pernštejnem) This private collection presents thirty Czech- and foreign-made historical motorcycles from the first Pionýrs, Stadion mopeds, police Jawa 634, and a range of military motorcycles and several motorised bicycles from the 1970s. Rare items include a 2006 modern retro Jawa 555 made from fibreglass in

Franta Gallery Třebíč

The gallery is dedicated to Třebíč native, František Mertl, nicknamed Franta, who has lived in France since 1958. He donated works that are a cross-section of the artist's opus of over fifty years. The gallery is located in the newly-renovated spaces of the Národní dům (National House) on Kar

Hojkovské rašeliniště Peat Bog National Natural Monument

Hojkovské rašeliniště Peat Bog (5 ha) – this national natural monument is comprised of the remainder of a peat bog and a swampy forest not far from the town of Hojkov with an elevation of 650 metres above sea level. It is an area of significance for the gravely endangered Scandinavian small re

Jankovský potok Creek National Natural Monument

(Mladé Bříště) Jankovský potok Creek national natural monument (72.5 ha) – the primary reason for the protection of this area that covers the territories of Staré Bříště, Mladé Bříště, Zachotín, and Jankov u Pelhřimova is the region's sole occurrence of the critically endangered freshwater pearl mus

Štamberk and the Stone Sea National Natural Monument

(Lhotka) Štamberk a kamenné moře (14 ha) – in the area surrounding the ruins of the Štamberk Castle near Lhotka and Řásná lies what is left of a natural beech forest with a characteristic stone boulder bed where the boulder scree gradually transforms a stone sea that was created by the weathering an

Švařec National Natural Monument

(Koroužné) Švařec (8.8 ha) – this protected area of orchidaceous plants roughly two kilometres from Štěpánov in the cadastral territory of the towns of Koroužné and Švařec is characterised by its very high degree of species diversity. The steep southern slopes with their rich geological structure fe

Ransko National Natural Reserve

(Krucemburk) The expansive forest complex of the Ransko masiv Formation (695 ha) is located roughly one kilometre from Ždírec nad Doubravou. Ranský Babylon features bare rock segments where one can often find the remnants of serpentinite forests and a subspecies of the field scabious that is endemic to Rans

Radotínské rašeliniště Peat Bog National Nature Reserve

(Radostín) On the flat watershed at the branching of the Sázava and Doubrava rivers, roughly a kilometre from the town of Radostín emerged a peat bog with an area of approximately 35 hectares and a depth of peat layers of up to 3.26 m. The area is a part of Březina, the second largest peat deposit, with an

Radotínské rašeliniště Peat Bog National Nature Reserve

(Radostín) On the flat watershed at the branching of the Sázava and Doubrava rivers, roughly a kilometre from the town of Radostín emerged a peat bog with an area of approximately 35 hectares and a depth of peat layers of up to 3.26 m. The area is a part of Březina, the second largest peat deposit, with an

Žákova hora Mountain National Natural Reserve

(Cikháj) The unusually preserved complex of temperate deciduous forest in the higher elevations of the Žďárské vrchy Hills are a biotope for a range of flora and fauna that have already disappeared from surrounding areas. It is situated approximately 1.5 kilometres from the town of Cikháj, covering a ar

Zhejral National Nature Reserve

(Klatovec) The Zhejral National Nature Reserve unfolds across an area of 27 hectares. Zhejral Pond, the peat bogs, and peat meadows about a kilometre from the town of Klatovec make up an extensive complex with rare flora and fauna. The areas surrounding the pond are dominated by simplestem bur-reed and water h

Mohelenská Serpentinite Steppe National Natural Reserve

(Mohelno) With an area of area of 57 ha, the Mohlenická Serpentinite Steppe National Nature Reserve is a one-of-a-kind territory with international value. The uniqueness of the territory lies not only its the inimitable topography, but primarily in its geological foundation of serpentinite. The Jihlava River

Velký Špičák National Nature Reserve

(Třešť) The Velký Špičák National Nature Reserve unfolds across a rocky peak, its adjoining slopes, and ridges stretching to Velké Javoří (679 m) roughly three kilometres from the city of Třešť, covering a total of 46 hectares. Forest growth is dominated by beech, fir, and spruce, with sycamore an

Dářko National Natural Reserve

(Radostín) The 65-hectare territory that unfolds not far from the town of Radostín features the largest peat bog of the Českomoravská vrchovina Highlands. Rising above the ground covering of sphagnum and moss are the white tufts of hare's-tail cottongrass. The undergrowth features abundantly-growing Europea

Oslednice Lookout Tower

(Telč) The lookout tower rising from the top of Oslednice Hill boasts a fairytale view of the city of Telč. The tower was opened in 2000, replacing the original wooden lookout tower from 1898. To reach the viewing gallery, visitors must conquer a total of 175 stairs. Lookout Tower Height: 31.2 m

Horní les Lookout Tower

(Rovečné) Horní les Hill (774.3 metres above sea level) is the most prominent point in Svratecká hornatina natural park. In 2001, a lookout tower was built atop the hill, the top level of which can be reached by climbing 201 stairs. The reward for your efforts are views of such things as the Zubštejn Castl

Mařenka Lookout Tower

(Štěměchy) This lookout tower has stood atop the highest point in the Třebíč region, Mařenka Hill (711 metres above sea level), since 2012. The combination of a stone outer layer and the steel staircase structure with wooden elements work together to create a unique, 31 m tall building whose apex features

Lookout Tower on Fajtov Hill

(Velké Meziříčí) This uniquely-shaped lookout tower that will also feature unique nighttime lighting was designed by architect Václav Hlaváček, customised specifically for Fajtův Hill. Donors can support the tower's construction efforts by "purchasing" one of its 160 stairs, which will then be inscribed with the

Rubačka Lookout Tower

(Nový Telečkov) The lookout tower built in the spring of 2009 above the water cistern on Rubačka Hill at an elevation of 580 meters above sea level is located roughly 6 km southwest of Velké Meziříčí. After climbing a mere 42 stairs, a view of Velké Meziříčí and highway bridge unfolds before you. Look

Lookout Tower by Ocmanice

The lookout tower in the unique shape of a Native American teepee was built above the underground water cistern in 2003–2004. It offers views of the surrounding area, the town of Ocmanice, and of nearby Náměšť nad Oslavou. Lookout Tower Height: 6.2 m

Madonna's Gate Jihlava

Originating from the time of the foundation of the city and its fortifications at the beginning of the second half of the 13th century, it is the only one of five city gates that has survived. It is a characteristic symbol of Jihlava, and offers views of the entire city. The middle floors regularly

St James the Greater Church Tower Jihlava

Construction on the north tower, one of two that create a dominating feature over the city and are a part of the church consecrated in the name of the patron of miners, St James, was completed at the beginning of the 14th century. It originally functioned as a guard tower, but was opened to the publ

Church of the Holy Spirit Tower

(Telč) The late-Romanesque square tower is the oldest surviving architectural monument in Telč. It was opened in 1993, and climbing its 97 stairs offers visitors an interesting view of the city's historic centre. The tower houses a permanent exhibit featuring the paintings of Jan Křen and an archeologica

St James Church Tower

(Telč) Originally built in the 1300s, this parish church acquired its late-Gothic appearance during renovations in the 1400s. The church features a large tower with 40 stone and 105 wooden stairs. From the observation gallery, views of the city unfold in unparalleled beauty. Two of the tower's bells have s

Church of the Assumption Tower Havlíčkův Brod

The dominating feature of the Church of the Assumption built in the mid-13th century is a large Gothic tower that houses one of the oldest Czech bells, Vilém, cast in the 1340s. Another interesting feature of the tower is the clock with an old Bohemian clock face divided into 24 hours. The small ro

St Bartholomew Church Tower Pelhřimov

The church's lookout tower was built in the 16th century. Its gallery is accessed by 135 stairs, and offers a beautiful view of the city and the surrounding landscape. In the upper part of the tower, visitors can tour the watchman's room with a display of historical photographs of the city. On the w

St Martin's Church Tower Třebíč

The large tower of the St Martin's Church was originally built as a part of the city's fortification systems around 1335. Its gallery was opened to the public in 1997, and visitors have the opportunity to observe the entire city from its height of 35 metres. The dimensions of the tower's clock (with

Church of the Assumption Tower Polná

Built in 1700–1707, this decanal church will enchant visitors with its interiors, which are richly decorated with the stucco work of Florentine artists, and house a Sieber organ, the largest surviving Baroque instrument of domestic provenance in the country. In addition to the beautiful views, vis

Church of St Giles Tower

(Moravské Budějovice) The church acquired its current appearance in the 18th century, the same time that the tower was constructed on the north side of the presbytery. It houses two surviving bells, and the observation gallery, 26 metres off the ground, offers beautiful, sweeping views of not only the city and the surrou

St Nicholas Church Tower Humpolec

The church tower acquired its current appearance during a reconstruction of the church in the late 19th century. A total of 115 stairs lead to the gallery at 30 metres off the ground. On the way up, visitors have the opportunity to see two bells and the tower clock weights. The middle floors house a

St John the Baptist Church Tower Přibyslav

Construction on the Přibyslav Gothic tower began in the year 1497. The thickness of its walls and the fact that the entrance to the tower located 7 metres off the ground seem to suggest that it was built as a defence tower. In 1994, the tower acquired two new bells named Maria and Jan, weighing 395

St Nicholas Church Tower Velké Meziříčí

The square, three-storey tower was built in the mid 15th century. On their ascent to the gallery at a height of 40 metres, visitors have the opportunity to see the tower's six bells, as well as an exhibit featuring 99 historical photographs of the city. The tower has featured a clock since the 16th

St John the Baptist Church Tower Počátky

The tall, square church tower is a commanding presence in the centre of town, and is a sightseeing destination that should not be missed. After many fires, the tower acquired its current appearance in 1824, and was opened to the public in 2004 after large-scale reconstructions. Height: 3

Žirovnice Chateau Tower

The early Gothic castle was reconstructed in 1550 as a Renaissance chateau, and was later renovated in the Baroque style. The hall in the south wing and the former chapel both feature valuable original late-Gothic wall murals from the end of the 15th century. Access to the top of the tower (which of

Police Chateau Tower

This Gothic-Renaissance chateau also has a five-storey square lookout tower that offers sweeping views of the surrounding landscape. The chateau also features masterful stucco ceiling decorations, as well as a perfectly-preserved and intact chateau chapel from the 18th century, among other things.

Ledeč nad Sázavou Castle Tower

This castle tower from the first half of the 13th century was opened in 2007. By ascending its 111 stairs, the tower offers an impressive 360-degree view of Ledeč nad Sázavou and its surrounding area. The tower is part of the museum tour, whose exhibits are dedicated primarily to the work of local

Orlík Castle Ruins Tower

(Humpolec) The construction of an interior metal staircase in 2014 inside the old, damaged castle tower has created a unique lookout tower that offers beautiful views in fair weather of all of the important Vysočina peaks, and even Blaník Mountain. To earn these views, visitors need to climb a total of 104 s

Roštejn Castle Tower

(Doupě) The main dominating feature of this excellently-preserved late Gothic castle is its Gothic seven-sided tower with 103 stairs leading to the top. Through the windows, visitors have the opportunity to enjoy sweeping views of the surrounding landscape. In good visibility, one can even see parts of the

Rokštejn Castle Tower

(Brtnice) In place of the early Gothic castle that once stood on a rocky outcrop in the Brtnice River Valley now looms a large and romantic castle ruin. All that remains of the original castle is a square tower, to which another storey has been added. The site underwent detailed archeological surveys thanks t

Jihlava Brewery

The oldest written record of the Jihlava malting industry is an entry in the municipal register from 3 May 1348, when King Charles IV notified the Jihlava magistrate and the entire town of a ban on brewing beer in the villages. In the Middle Ages, there were a total of 123 registered privileged beer

Poutník Brewery

(Pelhřimov) The brewery's name is derived from the wandering monk, Pelegrinus (Latin for "pilgrim"), who is linked to the foundation of the city. The city obtained brewing privileges in 1552. At first, beer was brewed in individual houses, however failure to follow rules and the declining quality of the beers l

Chotěboř Brewery

Pivovar Chotěboř began brewing beer in 2009. They produce unpasteurised beer according to a traditional Czech recipe—the beer is brewed using a double-mashing process, fermentation occurs in open tanks, and fermentation finishing takes places in lagering tanks for a minimum of 30 days. The brewe

Jihlava Town Hall Privileged Brewery

The small brewery is located in the cellars of the Radniční Restaurant on Masarykovo náměstí Square in the Jihlava city centre. Beer brewing began here in May 2011 The brewery produces unfiltered, unpasteurised beers that are consumed primarily in the local tavern. However, you can also find th

Microbrewery in the Jelínek Villa

(Velké Meziříčí) Jelínkova vila hotel – pivovar (Jelínek Villa Hotel & Brewery) was built and opened during during the course of 2003–2004. The first beer was brewed here on 9 April 2004. After a 55-year hiatus, the brewery thus resurrected the age-old beer brewing tradition that dates back to the first half o

Kozlíček Brewery

(Horní Dubenky) Kozlíček microbrewery is located beneath the highest peak of the Vysočina Region: Javořice. The microbrewery opened its doors in 2007. Its origins were preceded by two years of experimentation in beer brewing in a home-brewing environment. The beers listed below can be sampled at select small pu

Pacov Family Microbrewery

The microbrewery was founded in 2009. It follows in the footsteps of the Pacov beer-brewing tradition. The microbrewery owner began brewing beer at home, gaining knowledge and experience, and gradually worked his way up to professional brewing activities. Today, the brewery produces unfiltered and u

Na ranči Microbrewery

(Ždírec nad Doubravou) This restaurant microbrewery was established in 2011. It is part of the Džekův ranch complex. Under the watchful eye of an experienced brewer, the facilities produce a 13° and 11° light, unfiltered, yeast, unpasteurised lager. It bears the pleasant name, "Naše pivo" ("Our Beer"). Tours

Želiv Monastery Brewery

The monastery in the town of Želiv was established in 1139. It was the Blessed Abbot Gotšalk that brought the Premonstratensians to the "Údolí štěstí" ("Valley of Joy"), and they have lived here with several short and long interruptions ever since. The first mention of beer brewing here dates

Podklášterní Brewery Třebíč

Beer has been brewed in Třebíč and its surrounding area for as long as anyone can remember. In 1873, the brewery burned down, but its operations were restored after a number of years. After the Second World War, the Třebíč brewery was incorporated into the "national enterprise," and began to g

Kokeš Brewery

(Kamenice nad Lipou) Beer has been brewed in Kamenice nad Lipou most likely since as early as the 15th or 16th centuries. Historical developments later ensured that beer could be brewed only by the ruling nobility until the 20th century. Its brewery, located directly next to the chateau, developed from a small farming c

Ruprenz Brewery

(Brtnice) Pivovar Ruprenz is situated in the town of Uhřínovice, located in the very heart of the Vysočina Region, not far from the city of Brtnice. The original name of the town dating back to the 13th century was Ruprenz, which is where the name of the beer comes from. The foundation of the brewery in 20

Model Kingdom Žďár nad Sázavou

In the cellar of the Žďár Dům kultury (Cultural Centre), visitors can tour the Vysočina-themed permanent model railroad exhibit that takes up just under 55 square metres. This area has eight train stations with 600 metres of railroad tracks and 180 railroad switches. The dominating feature of t

Robinson park Jihlava

The family park offers sports and entertainment attractions for children from 0 to 14 years of age: trampolines, climbing walls, playground complexes, toboggans, slides, mazes, jumping castles, inflatable attractions, a play area for toddlers, a multi-purpose playing field, etc. We take children fro

Largest Museum of Toy Cars

(Příseka) Approximately 4 km from Jihlava, the chateau in Příseka is opening an unparalleled museum of toy cars at the beginning of the automn 2015. All of the interior areas of the newly-renovated chateau whose history reaches all the way back to the 13th century will boast a spectacular display for boys a

Largest Museum of Toy Cars

(Příseka) Approximately 4 km from Jihlava, the chateau in Příseka is opening an unparalleled museum of toy cars at the beginning of the automn 2015. All of the interior areas of the newly-renovated chateau whose history reaches all the way back to the 13th century will boast a spectacular display for boys a

FÁBULA Fairytale Realm

(Kamenice nad Lipou) The Pohádková říše FÁBULA fairytale realm is an ideal place for a family day trip. In any weather, it will entertain not just children, but also the adults they bring with them to this one-of-a-kind fairytale world. Visitors will experience unexpected adventures and a storybook tale written by

Draxmoor Haunted Chateau

(Dolní Rožínka) In the 16th century, the owners of the chateau transformed the former medieval building into a brewery, which was used two centuries later as a granary. Today it houses an exhibit full of sorcery, magic, and spooks. Visitors will be ushered into the world of fantasy by a movie with 3D effects, and t

Journeys Through Time: Walks Through the History of Třebíč

The interactive exposition "Journeys Through Time" is located in the renovated wing of the chateau that is part of the complex of the St Procopius Basilica and the former Wallenstein chateau in Třebíč. Designed for visitors of all ages, the exposition is complemented by interactive exhibits in

The Interactive Spooky Pelhřimov Netherworld

You can find real excitement and fun in the underground of the Šrejnarovský dům (Šrejnar House) no. 10, the location of the Pelhřimovské peklo netherworld. For a short while, you can become a devil, or perhaps just an ordinary sinner, and experience this interactive spooky exposition to the fu

Fairytale Trail Panenská

(Jemnice) The Pohádková stezka fairytale trail is 4 km long, and leads along forest and asphalt roads in the area surrounding the town of Panenská. Here you will encounter various fairytale characters and experience magical adventures. You will be guided through eleven stops by the small, perceptive, curio

Dvůr Střítež Children's Amusement Park

The Dětský zábavní park Dvůr Střítež children's amusement park lies a short way past the city Třebíč. It is a place where children can play, engage in sports, and expand their skills and dexterity. The park is made up of an outdoor children's playground and a covered, heated hall that has

Haunted Underground

(Nové Město na Moravě) The Strašidelné podzemí haunted underground exhibit is located in the cellars of the Horacké muzeum (Museum of Horácko).It features five stops that are inspired by local legends, complemented by special lighting and sound effects. The Strašidelné podzemí haunted underground is open during th

Haunted Maze

(Jihlava) Have some fun in this one-of-a-kind haunted maze, where spooks, fairytale characters, favourite movie heroes, and dinosaurs await you. You will be a little afraid, laugh a lot, and have fun and learn. Make sure not to forget your camera. Where else can you take a photo with Shrek, Spiderman, Phantom

Manorial Court Telč: Centre for Leisure Time Activities and Tourism

Beginning in July 2015, the Panský dvůr (Manorial Court) in Telč will offer visitors a range of interesting activities. Parents with younger children can look forward to a children's play area located in one of the buildings, as well as the opportunity to relax in the cafe with a cup of good coff

Alternator: Eco-technological Centre

(Třebíč) The center introduces over 100 scientific-technological exhibits for children and adults alike. The EKOBIOENERGO civic association opened its unique eco-technological centre, ALTERNÁTOR, in summer 2015 in Třebíč. The outstanding new centre, Alternátor, is based on the concept of a science centr



The Bradlo Forest Cemetery

(Kamenice nad Lipou) The Bradlo Forest Cemetery lies about one kilometre to the south of the city. At the southwest slope there is a cave called the Lutheran Arian Furnace where, according to legend, non-Catholics secretly met. An important scholar in the field of tropical diseases and the discoverer of th

Jewish Synagogue Habry

The Jewish Synagogue, dating from 1825, was rebuilt in 1979 into a wide screen cinema.

Kralice Bible Memorial

(Kralice nad Oslavou) Remainders of a Gothic fort, where the Kralice Bible was printed in a secret printing office of the Czech Brethren between 1579 and 1594. The museum shows visitors objects from the original printing office ? 4000 preserved metal letters which are unique in the whole world.

The Church of St. Margaret

(Jaroměřice nad Rokytnou) K. F. Toepper, Jean Baptiste and the painter Seglioni decorated the Church of St. Margaret in the chateau, which is connected to the main wing of the chateau.

Jaroměřice nad Rokytnou State Chateau

The original Renaissance Jaroměřice nad Rokytnou Chateau was built on the location of an old Gothic moated fortress. It was later rebuilt into a large Baroque chateau complex that included the parish Church of St. Margaret. The chateau is surrounded by a symmetrical, French-style garden, which

Otokar Březina Museum

(Jaroměřice nad Rokytnou) The museum is the oldest literary museum in Moravia. The apartment of the poet is preserved in its original form; the study library contains the whole body of the Březina?s work. There is also a mini gallery of paintings and graphics by František Bílek. The Society of Otokar Březina also adminis

Town hall

(Bystřice nad Pernštejnem) In the building of the former town hall from 1809 there is currently a museum. The square is adorned with a plague column and a fountain with statues, which are dominated by two statues of the missionaries Cyril and Methodius. The first reference to the fountain dates from 1506. The Marian Column, d

Chateau Brtnice

Originally a Gothic castle from the 1430s. At the end of the 16th century, during the rule of Hynek Brtnický of Wallenstein, Italian architect Baltazar Maggi de Ronio rebuilt it into a Renaissance residence. The last adaptations, at the end of the 18th century, gave the chateau its present form.

The Castle Přibyslav

The chateau was built around 1560 by reconstructing an old Gothic castle in an Italian Renaissance style. In the 18th century, the chateau was expanded and later remodeled in a Neo-Classical style. Located in the courtyard of the chateau is the original arcaded Renaissance gallery designed as a Tusc

The Decanal Church of the Assumption of Virgin Mary

(Havlíčkův Brod) The Decanal Church of the Assumption of Virgin Mary is a dominant feature of the town. It was built in the mid-thirteenth century and reconstructed several times before it gained its present form. Valuable frescoes are preserved in the early-baroque dome, a very precious central altar, a painting on

Art Gallery

(Havlíčkův Brod) The gallery shows illustrations in a permanent exhibition of its own collections. Exhibitions are held throughout the year.

The Chateau Hrotovice

The town is dominated by a chateau that was built in Renaissance style at the end of the 16th century in place of a medieval fort. It got its present shape in the first third of the 18th century when it underwent overall reconstruction and a Baroque adaptation. The square courtyard has wooden arcade

The Chateau Pelhřimov

The chateau was built in the middle of the 16th century on the location of an old Gothic structure. The remains of the original structure are still evident in the cross vaults located on the ground level of the chateau. After a major fire in 1682, the chateau was rebuilt in a Baroque style. Its curr

Museum of the Highlands

(Havlíčkův Brod) It has its premises in ?Havlíček?s House? in the square. A corner oriel and a painted ceiling on the first floor are preserved from the originally Renaissance house, as well as some Gothic architectural elements. The journalist Karel Havlíček lived and worked in this house. His flat and original

Lipnice nad Sázavou Castle

The Lipnice nad Sázavou Castle, founded in the early part of the 14th century, was one of the mightiest of the Czech castles. In the early 16th century, the castle underwent a Gothic reconstruction and later on, the structure was remodeled in a Renaissance style. The castle s chapel, which had been

History and Science Museum

(Bystřice nad Pernštejnem) The museum has its premises in the former town hall, built in the mid-nineteenth century on the site of two older houses. In the cellars the original Gothic vaults are preserved. One of the exhibition rooms is dedicated to the painter Alois Lukášek. Permanent expositions are supplemented during th

The Gothic Tower

(Přibyslav) The most ancient object and dominant feature is the Gothic Tower dating from 1497. Nearby is a former hospital for women, dating from 1692. At preset the town museum and information centre is located here.

The Jewish Synagogue Golčův Jeníkov

In 1659 there was only a wooden chapel on the site of the Jewish synagogue. It was destroyed by fire. Between 1871 and 1873 a new synagogue was built in the neo-Romanesque style, adorned with Moorish decorative elements. Above the main outer gable the Ten Commandments of Moses are written in gilded

K. H. Borovský Memorial

Commemorates the life and work of the writer and journalist Karel Havlíček. It is located in his native home, which was declared a national cultural monument.

Roštejn Castle

(about 7 km from Třešť) The originally Gothic Stronghold of Roštejn was rebuilt in the 16th century and turned into a Renaissance hunting estate. After being struck by lightning in 1915, the castle suffered a major fire and it was not until the 1960 s that the property began to be sl

Town Museum

(Přibyslav) Museum exhibitions are housed in the building of the former women?s hospital dating from 1692. Permanent exhibitions: Regional ethnographic exhibitions, Most famous natives, Minerals and rocks, Medieval mining industry

Fire Fighting Centre

(Přibyslav) Situated in the palace that was rebuilt from a former Gothic castle around 1560 under the influence of Italian Renaissance architecture. In the 18th century the palace was extended and later it was reconstructed in the classical style. In the castle courtyard an arcade loggia upon Tuscan columns is

Exhibition of the House of Josef Hoffmann

(Brtnice) In Brtnice there was finished the restoration of the house of birth of an architect and designer Josef Hoffmann (1870-1956), an important figure in the Viennese Art Nouveau (Jugendstil). The unique painting of the interior walls was renovated, to which he himself created the designs around the year

The Chateau Náměšť nad Oslavou

The chateau is the most important monument. It is the dominant feature of the town. A cylindrical stone tower is preserved from the original Gothic castle. Between 1565 and 1578, under the rule of Jan Starší of Žerotín, the castle was rebuilt into a Renaissance chateau according to a design by t

Cemetery Church of St. John of Nepomuk

(Horní Cerekev) One of the dominant features of Horní Cerekev is the building of the Cemetery Church of St. John of Nepomuk. Formerly it was a chapel of St. Linhart from the 14th century. At the end of the 15th century the Léskovec family renovated it in a late Gothic style, so the chapel turned into a lit

The Chateau Horní Cerekev

The present day chateau used to be a water fort that belonged to Tobias of Bechyně in the 14th century. It was ingeniously built on a peninsula near the edge of the ?Zámecký Pond? pond, so that the moats could be filled with water. The chateau was totally rebuilt in the 17th century by Albrecht

Malina´s House

(Havlíčkův Brod) Malina´s House with a richly segmented facade and a gable, reconstructed in late-baroque style.

Dean´s Church of the Elevation of the Holy Cross

(Černovice) The Dean´s Church of the Elevation of the Holy Cross stands in place of St. Catherine´s Chapel. The present form of the church dates from 1737, when the Kinskis rebuilt it after a fire in 1730. They also donated statues of Czech patrons for the side altars. The church was surrounded by a graveyard

The Chateau Černovice

Due to numerous fires, attacks and looting there are not many sights in Černovice. The chateau was built in 1641 by the landowner of the manor of that time, Martin Henry Paradise de la Saga. He chose Černovice as his seat, which is why he built a chateau there, on the site of a former brewery. Th

Church of Annunciation of Our Lady

(Horní Cerekev) Another building and cultural sight is the Church of Annunciation of Our Lady. Originally a wooden church with two towers, it was rebuilt in stone. After a fire in 1821, which destroyed both the towers and bells, only one of them was built again. The interior of the church and its furniture are mos

The Baroque Goltz Castle

(Golčův Jeníkov) The baroque, so-called Goltz Castle, with a square ground plan has a barrel vault on the ground floor. A spiral staircase leads to the first floor where there are three residential rooms. In the hall there is a fireplace made of white marble with golden inscriptions around it. On the second floor th

The native house of J. A. Schumpeter

(Třešť) The native house of J. A. Schumpeter and premises of the J. A. Schumpeter Foundation are located in the town. J. A. Schumpeter was one of the most outstanding economists of the 20th century. He was the first Minister of Finance in Austria, an honorary professor of Harvard University and co-creator o

The Parish Church of St. James the Elder

(Jihlava) The Parish Church of St. James the Elder was consecrated in 1256. The interior, adapted in baroque style, contains Gothic sculptures and a Renaissance gilded font. The gallery of the north tower is open to the public in the summer months.

The Dominican Church of Elevation of the Holy Cross

(Jihlava) The Dominican Church of Elevation of the Holy Cross was started in French Gothic style and finished under the influence of the Gothic style of Parléř. It was taken over for military purposes in 1871 along with the monastery. The Czechoslovak Hussite Church presently uses it. A part of the monaster

The Town Hall

(Jihlava) The Town Hall, adapted in the baroque style, came into being by joining three early Gothic houses. The Compact of Basil was ceremonially declared in front of the town hall on 5th July 1436. This ended the Hussite Wars in our lands.

The Jewish Cemetery Jihlava

The Jewish cemetery in Jihlava is a significant monument that reminds us of the existence of the Jewish town in the city. It was established in 1869, and includes 1,120 contemporary gravestones. In the early 1900s, a ceremonial hall was built at its entrance on the designs of Viennese architect Wilh

Viewing Tower of the Church of St. James the Elder

(Jihlava) Building of the north tower (63 m), which served as a watchtower, was finished at the beginning of the 14th century. The gallery is at 40m and offers a view of the wider surroundings. The Tourist information center organize of the sightseeing. The contact: Masarykovo square 2.

Velké Meziříčí Chateau and Museum

The most significant buildings include the chateau. The originally a Renaissance chateau, was expanded in the Baroque era, and then adapted in the neo- Gothic style. Of the various architectural styles, the Gothic Renaissance entry gate have survived. The chateau interiors are decorated w

Žirovnice Chateau

An early Gothic castle, expanded in the late Gothic era and rebuilt into a Renaissance chateau, with subsequent Baroque adaptations. Its interiors and former chapel boast a set of late-Gothic frescoes. The chateau houses the collections of the municipal museum and gallery. Newly accessible is

The Chateau Granary Žirovnice: an Exposition of Rural Traditions and Crafts

The chateau granary was built in the direct vicinity to the chateau Žirovnice at the behest of František Leopold Šternberk in the early 18th century. The building underwent numerous modifications, and often served as storage space for unwanted items in the past. A complete reconstruction was co

Červená Řečice Chateau

The Renaissance complex of the Červená Řečice Chateau originated with the reconstruction of the former Gothic castle. The castle was once surrounded by a water moat, part of which still survives today, that drew its water supply from the neighbouring cascade of ponds. From the late 12th century

Světlá nad Sázavou Chateau

One of the most beautiful buildings in the city is the chateau that stands on the left shore of the Sázava River. Originally a fortress, the structure was modified into a chateau by Burian Trčka in 1567. Further reconstructions were begun after the Thirty Years' War by the Vernier family, and were

Polná Chateau

Originally a castle from the 13th century, this chateau represents a collection of architectural fragments from a diverse range of stylistic periods. In the second half of the 15th century, it was renovated in the late Gothic style. In 1584, Zacharias of Hradec had the castle reconstructed in the Re

Pacov Chateau

The former castle from the 12th–13th centuries was converted into a chateau in the 1500s. In 1708, the Discalced Carmelites came to Pacov, and made the chateau into a monastery. It was expanded into its current form around the year 1719; during the reign Joseph II, the monastery was closed, and th

Police Chateau

The earliest history of the town, and likely the fortified farmstead in Police as well began most likely as early as the very turn of the 11th century, which has been confirmed by archaeological surveys of the area. Over the course of time, the fortress gradually grew into a small castle with a squa

Jemnice Chateau

The chateau originated with the reconstruction of a squire's castle that was established most likely in the first half of the 13th century. During the war in 1943, the chateau served as a hiding place for Viennese art collections. It also served as a dormitory for students of the Vienna conservatory

Zubštejn Castle Ruins

(Bystřice nad Pernštejnem) This castle was among the most important residences of the powerful lords of Pernštejn. It was built on an elongated rocky ridge on the right bank of the Svratka River, not far from the town of Pivonice, so that it could help protect the trade route that lead from Brno to Polička. The Pernštejn f

Rabštejn Castle Ruins

(Dukovany) First mention of the castle in written sources dates to its sale in 1358. The property later came under the ownership of Hynek of Kunštát, nicknamed the Suchý čert (Dry Devil), who, together with Jan Sokol of Lamberk, gained notoriety for string of marauding attacks during the war. It was then p

Mstěnice: the abandoned medieval village and fortress

(Hrotovice) (approximately 4 km south of Hrotovice) was first mentioned in written sources in 1393. The village was destroyed in 1468 by the Hungarian army of Matthias Corvinus along his crusade to Třebíč. An archeological survey is under way, the purpose of which is to reveal what life in this medieval vi

The Seligmann Bauer House

(Třebíč) Seligmann Bauer had the house built shortly before 1798 on the so-called "Španělský pozemek" ("Spanish Land"). The value of this house stems from its direct connection to the Rear Synagogue. Inside the house there is a staircase accessing the women's gallery in the synagogue, and the house's owne

Jewish Cemetery Třebíč

The location of the original cemetery of the medieval Jewish population of the city is not known. The Jewish cemetery at Hrádek was mentioned in written sources for the first time indirectly in 1636 in connection with aristocratic regulations on the burial of extralocal Jews. With an area of 11,7

Jewish Cemetery Brtnice

Jewish people's prominent position in Brtnice's history is evidenced by the fact that the area boasted at least two Jewish cemeteries. The so-called "starý hřbitov" ("old cemetery") was situated along the road to Panská Lhota, and was established prior to 1600 as a replacement of an even older c

Gustav Mahler House

(Jihlava) Shortly after the birth of Gustav Mahler, his entire family moved from Kaliště to Jihlava, where the future composer spent his childhood and youth. The house where he grew up features an exposition titled "Gustav Mahler a Jihlava" ("Gustav Mahler and Jihlava"). The exposition is divided into sev

The Birth House of Gustav Mahler

(Jihlava) The newly reconstructed house—the birthplace of world-renowned composer and conductor Gustav Mahler—was originally a coaching inn. Today, the house serves as a guesthouse with a pub and a small events hall for private or corporate events. In 1996, the town of Kalice hosted the first ever Mah

Zichpil Quarter Humpolec

The Zichpil Quarter and the Jewish town are a part of the the city of Humpolec, and are located between the Horní náměstí Square and the cemetery. The first Jews at the time still on the outskirts of the city began to settle here in the late 1600s. The name Zichpil, however, is much older. T

Jewish Cemetery Polná

The burial site for Polná Jews is located at the Donlí město (Downtown) – Pod Kalvárií, where the former residential complex of several Jewish families stood until the the second half of the 17th century. The cemetery was most likely established in the early 16th century. The oldest section o

The Jewish Synagogue Ledeč nad Sázavou

The Jewish synagogue lies not far from Husovo náměstí Square, on Na Potoce Street. The former 1606 synagogue was built out of wood, and after a fire in the 18th century, it was replaced by a new, single-storey building in the Folk Baroque style. Unfortunately, this new synagogue succumbed t

The Jewish Cemetery Police

On the southern edge of the town of Police lies a preserved Jewish cemetery that was founded 17th century at the latest. The cemetery houses approximately 300 headstones, which include several priceless Baroque and Classicist steles. A number of these feature very interesting symbolism.The graveston

Jihlava

Jewish settlement in Jihlava can be dated to shortly after the foundation of the city itself, in the mid-13th century. The eclipse of Jewish quarter, including the synagogue and cemetery, took place following the expulsion of the Jews from the city in 1426. Jewish families dispersed from here to the

Medieval Stone Bridge Ronov nad Sázavou

(Přibyslav) One of the town's most important landmarks is the three-arched stone bridge that spans the Sázava River, almost 40 metres long, with three-sided ice aprons on the upstream side of the bridge. The bridge dates back to the 1500s, and is one of ten oldest surviving bridges in the Czech Republic.

Bedřich Smetana (1824 Litomyšl – 1884 Prague), composer

(Havlíčkův Brod) During a walk through the park in Havlíčkův Brod, visitors may come across the statue of composer Bedřich Smetana. The statue was created in 1929 by sculptor Julius Pelikán. It is a reminder of the short period in which Bedřich Smetana studied at the Brod grammar school, the Carolinum. The

Museum of the New Generation

(Žďár nad Sázavou) In the summer of 2015, the curator of the Žďár nad Sázavou Chateau cultural monument is planning to open the one-of-a-kind Muzeum nové generace (Museum of the New Generation), whose mission will be to pass down the vibrant story of this city through fun and exciting expositions organised by a

Dr. Aleš Hrdlička Museum, Humpolec

The Humpolec museum was founded in 1895, and is one of the oldest museums in the Vysočina Region. There are five permanent exhibits: The ethnographic exhibit: depicts life in the Humpolec region in the 1800s: folk costumes, timbered buildings, musical instruments, and the traditions of cloth

The Birth House of Gustav Mahler Kaliště

Formerly a roadside inn, the birthplace of world-famous conductor and composer Gustav Mahler (1860–1911) was renovated in the late 1990s. The period restaurant is complemented by a newly-built music hall that hosts concerts and international operatic, piano, and contemporary music courses. It offe

Chateau Gallery Telč

Since 2014, the chateau gallery has featured a new exposition titled "Telči po stopách filmů" ("Around Telč in the Footsteps of Film"). The exposition highlights Telč, known not only as a UNESCO cultural heritage monument, but also as one of the most sought-after filming locations in the Czech

F. B. Zvěřina Memorial

(Hrotovice) The exposition in the renovated building on the town square introduces the life and work of academic painter František Bohumír Zvěřina, a local native (1835–1908). He drew inspiration for the subjects of his drawings from his travels in the Balkan countries, though he also captured Podyjí and

Mouček House: Exposition on the History of the City

(Žďár nad Sázavou) The ground floor features a First Republic era general store, a section dedicated to local products and crafts, as well as an exposition that will lead visitors through the most important events in the city's history. On the first floor, visitors can look forward to an exquisite burgher salon as wel

Lipince nad Sázavou Castle Tower

(Lipnice nad Sázavou) The Samson Tower gallery at Lipnice's castle is a favourite among romantics and anyone with a love of beautiful lookouts. After conquering the wooden stairs to a height of 27 metres above ground, visitors have to opportunity to see the castle and the beautiful, rolling landscape of the surrounding a

Beer brewing

Beer brewing in today's Vysočina Region has a long tradition—after all, the history of the first breweries reaches all the way into the early 14th century. At the time, the area was home to burgher, municipal, aristocratic, royal, and manorial breweries. In the 19th century, there were approximat

Biskupský Gajdoš Brewery

(Biskupice-Pulkov) The brewery opened in 2013. It is located in the picturesque village of Biskupice on the border of the Southern Moravian and Vysočina Regions. Their beer can be sampled directly from the tap at the brewery. Opening hours for the public are Friday and Saturday from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m., and Sunda

Heřman Brewery

(Vladislav) Pivovar Heřman follows in the footsteps of the tradition of the aristocratic brewery of the township of Vladislav. Beer had been brewed in Vladislav since the sixteenth century, at the time according to medieval recipes. Beer began to be brewed here using modern Pilsner methods in the late nineteen

Richard Microbrewery

(Bystřice nad Pernštejnem) Richard is a natural, unfiltered, unpasteurised beer, brewed in the Brno microbrewery in Žebětín since 2004. It is an honest beer produced using traditional methods that is a reminder of what beer used to taste like. Since 2014, Richard beer has also been brewed at the Račín microbrewery, which

EDEN Brewery

(Bystřice nad Pernštejnem) Mittrowsky beer from the Bystřice microbrewery at the Centrum EDEN follows in the footsteps of the brewing privilege tradition of the city of Bystřice, whose municipal brewery was still brewing beer 100 years ago. Traditional methods were replaced by modern technology, but the beer's journey from

Medard Brewery

(Bystřice nad Pernštejnem) Just like the song "Elektrický valčík" ("Electric Waltz") promotes the principle "elektrické hodiny do každé rodiny" ("an electric clock in each house"), we at Borovnice believe in the principle of "pivovar do každé dědiny" ("a brewery in each village"). This is how visitors are welcomed to

Podlesíčko Fairytale Village

(Sněžné) Part of the lodging resort of Hotel Podlesí near the city of Sněžná is the Pohádková vesnička Podlesíčko fairytale village. The village is comprised of nine separate houses and one duplex house. The architecture of each house was inspired by a fairytale. For example, you can encounter the l

The Jewish Cemetery Golčův Jeníkov

The Jewish cemetery lies about 0.5 km west of the town. Its eastern part hides the oldest tombstones; however, the signs on them are illegible today. The tombstones with legible signs date from the 16th century, the baroque tombstones from the mid-eighteenth century and the pseudo-baroque ones from

Jewish Cemetery Pacov

The oldest surviving legible headstones in the Pacov Jewish cemetery are dated 1796. The Jewish cemetery, however, was established in 1680, with the last burial taking place here in 1969. The cemetery has a total of approximately 300 Baroque- and Classicist-style headstones. Synagogue

Jewish Cemetery Nová Cerekev

The old Jewish cemetery that lies 100 m northwest of the synagogue was founded around 1690. There are 137 surviving headstones with inscriptions in Hebrew and Aramaic. The oldest headstone is from 1692. After the cemetery reached its capacity, it was supplemented by a new cemetery with 270 headstone

Horní Cerekev

No precise historical records have survived attesting to the date of the town’s establishment. The original settlement was settled by a man called Líček, and it was named Líčkovice after him. Later, the settlement was named after the church, originally wooden – cierkev. In the 14th century,

Černovice

The first mention of human settlement in the area can be found in Kosmas’ Chronicle; permanent settlement probably commenced in the late 11th and early 12th centuries. The original settlement was established on Černovice Brook, and by the second half of the 14th century, seven mills had been buil

Golčův Jeníkov

There were several settlements between the 10th and the 12th centuries on the overland trail that passed through Bohemia to Moravia. In spite of that, the history of Jeníkov is not very clear. It can be assumed that the town came about through the merger of two settlements in the locale, some time

Habry

Habry was an ancient trading settlement on the overland route from Prague to German Brod (today Havlíčkův Brod) and on to Moravia. The town stretches along both banks of the River Malá Sázavka. The first written mention about the settlement of Habry can be found in Kosmas’ Chronicle from 1101

Havlíčkův Brod

The town’s history reaches back to the early 1200s. The original settlement near the silver mines gradually developed into a town with royal rights. Its rich history is documented by about a hundred sights; in the 1980s, the town’s centre was declared a heritage zone. The town walls with bastion

Bystřice nad Pernštejnem

The first historical reference to this town stretching along the River Bystřice is from 1220. The settlement was established as the economic centre of a newly colonised territory. The town flourished most under the rule of the Pernštejn family, in the 15th and 16th centuries. In 1580, Emperor Rudo

Jewish Cemetery Jemnice

The Jemnice Jewish cemetery was established in the mid-14th century, and is decidedly one of the oldest Jewish burial sites in Moravia. There are approximately 400 gravestones, the oldest of which comes from the 1600s. In 1824, a mortuary was built at the cemetery, but this was demolished in 1955–

Brtnice

It is believed that Jewish settlers came to Brtnice as early as the 14th century. This fact, however, remains unsubstantiated. Documented proof of the presence of Jewish settlers dates from the mid-17th century. During the period between the late 1700s through the mid-1800s, approximately 60 Jewish

Jewish Cemetery Batelov

The historical presence of Jews in Batelov is remembered only by their gravestones in the cemetery hidden in a deciduous forest not far from town. The cemetery emerged in the second half of the 15th century. It has both Baroque and Classicist gravestones. The oldest legible gravestone is dated 1715.

Synagogue Batelov

The former synagogue was destroyed in a fire in 1790. Four years later, a new synagogue emerged in its place, which was renovated in the Classicist style in 1825. The synagogue served its religious worship function up until the Second World War, however, after the war had ended, the Jewish town was

Jewish Cemetery Horní Cerekev

This cemetery with Baroque gravestones from the 18th century was founded as early as the 17th century. The youngest gravestones are from the period leading up to World War II. The cemetery also includes a mortuary with a tented roof. The sacred atmosphere is enhanced by the centuries-old trees that

Jewish Cemetery Černovice

The Jewish cemetery in Černovice was founded as early as 1600, and was later expanded in 1680 and 1785. The cemetery features a number of Baroque and Classicist gravestones. The cemetery was repaired, and, in the autumn of 2001, a memorial to the victims of the Holocaust (whose atypical design

Jewish Cemetery Chotěboř

Just like so many others, the Chotěboř Jewish town did not to survive the period of Nazi occupation and was decimated. In terms of age, the Chotěboř Jewish cemetery is one of the youngest in the country, and one of its unusual features is that it is encircled by a Catholic cemetery

The Jewish Cemetery Habry

The Jewish cemetery here was most likely founded in the 14th century. The earliest documented evidence of the cemetery, however, comes from the 17th century The cemetery features valuable Baroque and Classicist gravestones, with the oldest marked with the year 1740.

The Jewish Cemetery Ledeč nad Sázavou

One of the oldest Jewish cemeteries in the Czech lands was founded in the early 17th century, with some sources listing a date of 1601. It is situated on the southwestern edge of town as a part of the municipal cemetery complex. It is the final resting place of approximately 1,000 Jews from Lede

The Jewish Cemetery Světlá nad Sázavou

Up until 1886, burials took place at the so-called "old cemetery" established in 1742. The gravestones from this cemetery were removed during the Nazi occupation. The local Jewish cemetery was established in 1887. The Nový Hřbitov (New Cemetery) was founded in 1887, with approximately 170 survivin

Jemnice

The city of Jemnice is home to one of the oldest Jewish towns in the Czech Republic. First written mention dates as early as 1336. There are a total of 23 surviving buildings of the former Jewish quarter neighbouring the town square on its southern end (today the Zámecka and U Templu Street area).

The Jewish Cemetery Moravské Budějovice

At first, Moravské Budějovice Jews buried their deceased in cemeteries in the surrounding towns —Jemnice, Police, and Třebič. They later established their own cemetery, but this was abandoned during the 18th century. In 1908, the city granted land to the community for the foundation of a new c

The Synagogue Police

The first documented synagogue in Police used to stand on the village green. It was transformed into a residential house after 1728. Another synagogue was built in Židovská ulice (Jewish Street), which unfortunately burned down during a fire in 1758. The very next year, (1759), a new brick synagog

Puklice

After the expulsion of the Jews from Jihlava that took place in the 1400s, the Jewish exiles found refuge in the surrounding towns and small cities. Puklice was one of these towns. At the time, the Jewish quarter was comprised of a total of 14 houses and 4 meat shops. A small synagogue, or perhaps m

Jewish Cemetery Střítež

Approximately 500 m to the southwest of town, by the Zámecký Pond lies a Jewish cemetery where visitors can find headstones with Hebrew, German, and Czech inscriptions. It dates between the 18th and 20th centuries. The older stone steles feature ornamental decorations.

Jewish Cemetery Lukavec

The cemetery was established in the first third of the 18th century at the latest, but most likely existed much earlier than this. It has approximately 100 headstones and a simple mortuary. The oldest dated headstone is from 1725.

Jewish Cemetery Hořepník

Founded in the first half of the 1600s, the Jewish cemetery is located on the southwestern edge of the town of Hořepník by the Trnava River. There are over 200 surviving headstones, of which the oldest dates 1649. This cemetery too was expanded, and functioned until 1940, the year of the last buri

Jewish Cemetery Košetice

Jews were typically granted land for burial sites in hard-to-reach locales, and the situation in Košetice was no different. The Jewish cemetery here is located in a forest in the tree undergrowth southeast of town. It exists in its current dimensions on stable cadastre maps from as early as 1838. T

Jewish cemetery Chotěboř;

Just like so many others, the Chotěboř Jewish town did not to survive the period of Nazi occupation and was decimated. In terms of age, the Chotěboř Jewish cemetery is one of the youngest in the country, and one of its unusual features is that it is encircled by a Catholic cemetery

Jewish cemetery Habry

The Jewish cemetery here was most likely founded in the 14th century. The earliest documented evidence of the cemetery, however, comes from the 17th century The cemetery features valuable Baroque and Classicist gravestones, with the oldest marked with the year 1740

Černovice

Čenovice's Jewish quarter has stood north of the town square since the 18th century, and is represented by a handful of buildings and a defunct distillery, inn, and synagogue, which was built in 1807. In 1857, it was reconstructed, though it was ultimately torn down in 1949. The Jewish population h

Moravian Trail Stone Bridge Věžnice

(Šlapanov) Not far from the junction of Zlatý potok Stream and Šlapanka stands an old Gothic stone bridge that is evidently the last witness to the so-called "Moravská stezka" ("Moravian Trail") that lead from Prague to Brno joining the Haberská stezka (Haberská Trail) here, linking Prague with Jihlava an

Stone Bridge, Přibyslav

Approximately 500 metres west of St Catherine's Church on the abandoned road from Německý (Havlíčkův) Brod to Přibyslav survives a single-arched stone bridge spanning the Borovksý potok Stream, dating back to the 1400s.

Orchestrion, Veselíčko

(Žďár nad Sázavou) The Orchestrion in Veselíčko is one of the last functional orchestrions in the Czech Republic. Visitors can see it for themselves in Veselíčko near Žďár nad Sázavou. The orchestrion was built before 1850 in Vienna, includes 8 songs, and can be viewed and heard at the local inn.

Vír Little Mill

Thirty years ago, a mill nicknamed Navrátilův mlýek (Navrátil's Little Mill) once stood in the town of Vír. Located on the Rovečínský Stream, it involved a moving scene with roughly 70 figurines whose various movements (sawing, dancing, hammering a nail) were powered by the water's flow. The

Municipal Museum Velká Bíteš

Across from the town hall stands house no. 5, which hosts the municipal museum. The house has a rich history, and is one of the most important in all of Velká Biteš. Four centuries ago, a small church of the Bohemian Brethren was built here by the Žerotín ruling nobility. The building became

Vysočina Museum, Třebíč, Jemnice Branch

Museum exhibits are located in a historical building with a Renaissance core, renovated in the Empire style. In the rear of the building, there are original farm buildings from the turn of the 20th century. The museum collections document the history of the city and mineral mining in Southwestern Mo

Municipal Museum at the Old Town Hall

(Náměšť nad Oslavou) In 2004, Náměšt nad Oslavou reopened its Municipal Museum. Currently, it presents two permanent exhibits, "Aterliér fotografa Ondřeje Knolla" ("The Studio of Photographer Onřej Knoll"), a Náměšť native, and "Papírníkova tiskárna" ("The Papermaker's Print Shop"). The exhibits present vis

Butcher's Museum Náměsť nad Oslavou

(Náměšť nad Oslavou) In February of this year, the new Řeznické muzeum Jana Pavlíčka (Jan Pavlíček's Butcher's Museum) was opened in Náměšť nad Oslavou. This museum is stands alone for its number of exhibit items on the topic of butchery. Visitors have to opportunity to see a butcher's washtub made from a sing

J. Havlík Gallery Žirovnice

On display at the gallery are oil paintings by academic painter Jan Havlík, items from soft linden wood by academic sculptor Karel Hlava, as well as prints by Pavel Rouček and book illustrations by academic painter František Severa. The gallery also hosts solo shows.

Sněžná Gallery

(Sněžné) The gallery was founded in 1997 by painters Jan Odvárka, Rudolf Němec, and Pavel Mertlík. The gallery hosts solo shows, exhibits of paintings by artists from around the nation, as well as ceramics exhibits.

Brtnice

The town of Brtnice lies in the valley of a river of the same name, on the Jihlava – Třebíč road. The town’s name is derived from a place where bee-hives (“brtě”) used to stand. Until the Thirty Years War, Brtnice was one of the wealthiest towns in the Jihlava area, with flourishing trad

Hrotovice

Finds of Neolithic pottery document that this locale has been settled since ancient times. The first written mention of Hrotovice can be found in a deed of King Přemysl Otakar I, from 1228. Since its founding, Hrotovice has had a fortress, a church, and a parish house. The Hrotovice estate was held

Humpolec

Humpolec lies near the D1 motorway, approximately half-way between Prague and Brno. The establishment of the medieval settlement in the 12th century was related to the ancient overland trail connecting Želiv Monastery with Prague and Moravia. The settlement belonged to the Order of Teutonic Knights

Chotěboř

The first written reference to the town comes from 1265, but it can be supposed that the first settlement stood there in the 12th century and was probably related to the Libice Trail that passed through there. The first documented holder of the estate was Smil of Lichtemburk, who owned the silver mi

Jaroměřice nad Rokytnou

According to a legend, the settlement was founded in 1131 by the Přemyslid Prince Jaromír, but the first written records document the establishment of a fortress with a larger settlement only in the early 1300s. In the 16th century, the fortress was converted to a Renaissance chateau that was simi

Jemnice

Jemnice is one of the oldest towns in Moravia. The original settlement was established on the site of a border castle, dating from the late 11th and early 12th centuries. The town was established in the early 13th century as a royal property at a crossroads of trading routes, near a ford across the

Jihlava

Jihlava, the oldest mining town in the lands of the Bohemian crown, was established in the first half of the 13th century during the colonisation of the region, which was accelerated by the finding of silver ores. The riches flowing from mining were especially apparent in the generosity with which t

Kamenice nad Lipou

The first written mention of the town comes from 1267. Kamenice nad Lipou was established in the early 1200s as a settlement by a castle. According to the chronicler Hájek of Libočany, it was called Kamenice u Lipky, later was called Česká, and after the town walls were renewed in 1702, it recei

Ledeč nad Sázavou

Ledeč nad Sázavou is one of the oldest towns in Bohemia. Its origins can be dated to the mid 1100s, with the first written reports of it being from 1181 and 1186. In the 13th century, the Squires of Ledeč were noted as the owners, with Zikmund of Ledeč being the most significant: he was among th

Moravské Budějovice

The first written mention of the existence of settlement here dates to 1231 – the Budějovice area was a part of the dowry of Queen Constance, the widow of Přemysl Otakar I. This market settlement on the medieval trading route from Jihlava to Znojmo was elevated to the status of a town in

Náměšť nad Oslavou

The advantageous position on the River Oslava on an important route from Jihlava to Brno led to the establishment of a settlement that was first mentioned in 1234. At that time, it belonged to the Lords of Mezeříčí and Lomnice, who built a castle on the hill, meters above the river. The Žerotí

Nové Město na Moravě

The town is a sought-after tourist and recreation centre in the Žďárské vrchy hills. Ski tracks in the snowed-under countryside laid a foundation for the tradition of skiing and ski production in the region over a hundred years ago. Since 1934, the Golden Ski of the Bohemian Moravian Highlands h

Pacov

The first period in which the town flourished was in the 15th and 16th centuries. It was then that Pacov acquired town privileges and the Gothic castle was turned into a chateau. In the early 18th century, the town became the property of the order of Barefooted Carmelites, which expanded the chateau

Počátky

The town of Počátky lies in romantic countryside to the west of the highest point in the Bohemian-Moravian Highlands, Javořice Hill. Its name, meaning “Beginnings” in Czech, is derived from the beginnings, the springs, of local creeks and rivers. The name Počátky first appears in a registry

Polná

The original settlement was probably established in the mid 1100s, as a rest stop on one of the older branches of the Haberská Trail. The oldest written record of Polná is in the property deed of Jan I. of Polna from 1242, which was confirmed by the King of Bohemia Wenceslas I. It was probably gra

Pelhřimov

The history of the town reaches back to the 12th century. A legend considers Bishop Pelhřim (Pelegrine in Latin) to be the town’s founder. The original egg-shaped layout has survived to date. The town developed rapidly from the mid 1300s. Its owners, the Bishops of Prague, granted it a number of

Přibyslav

The first trustworthy records of Přibyslav come from the middle of the 13th century. The town was established at the same time as the castle, whose task was to guard the overland trails that passed not far from town. The town’s early history is connected with silver extraction. During the Hussite

Světlá nad Sázavou

According to legend, Světlá was founded and named by King Charles IV. He got lost in the local deep forests during a hunt, and only after a long ramble, a lighter forest led him to a valley where his company found him. To commemorate the event, he had a portion of the forest cut and a settlement e

Svratka

The entire region was settled in the 13th century, when an estate was established around Rychmburk Castle. The name of the medieval settlement is derived from the winding river. The oldest written reports date to around 1350; by the end of the 15th century, Svratka had held all of the rights of a to

Telč

The town of Telč is one of the most picturesque in the country. The precise date of the town’s establishment is not known. The oldest reliable information about Telč dates to 1333 – 1335, when the entire region belonged to the King of Bohemia. A royal intendant had his seat at the farmstead of

Třebíč

Over the long centuries of its existence, the city has become a major centre of Vysočina. It grew out of the foundations of the medieval settlement connected with the establishment of the Benedictine monastery in 1101, by princes from the Moravian branch of the ruling Přemyslid dynasty. The monast

Třešť

The establishment of Třešť was probably connected with the discovery of silver in the Jihlava area and its extraction by the king. The little town with a triangular square in the centre was founded on the left bank of Třeštice Brook. Two trading routes intersected by the brook, and on its right

Velká Bíteš

The original settlement was established in a shallow basin at the crossroads of trading routes, before 1200. The first trustworthy document attesting to its existence is a parchment of King Wenceslas written in Latin and dated 1240, which is among the oldest written documents preserved in Moravia. T

Velké Meziříčí

The town lies at the confluence of the Rivers Oslava and Balinka, in the place where two major trade routes intersected. The town experienced the era of its greatest flourishing in the 16th century: trades developed, burghers built majestic houses, the town hall was rebuilt, and the Gothic St. Nicho

Žďár nad Sázavou

The town lies in the middle of the protected landscape area Žďárské vrchy (Žďár Hills). Its history is tied to the development of the Cistercian monastery established in 1252. Cardinal Frantisek of Ditrichstein promoted the small village of Žďár to a town in 1607. The former monastery deve

Ždírec nad Doubravou

The town lies at the foot of the Žďárské vrchy and Železné hory ranges. This region was only colonised in the late 14th century, when the local dense forests were gradually cut down and the first settlement was established at the crossroads of overland routes. The method of cutting bac

Žirovnice

The town of Žirovnice is a sought-after recreational destination. The first written reference to Žirovnice comes from 1358, but archaeological finds of graphite pottery show that the region had been settled by the mid 13th century. The history of the town is tied to the history of the chat

The Church of All Saints

(Kamenice nad Lipou) The Church of All Saints was founded at the beginning of the 13th century. It went through a whole series of constructional changes and was damaged several times by fire. The tombstones of local noble families on the outer walls of the church date from the 16th and 17th centuries ? formerly they wer

The baroque Church of St. John the Baptist

(Přibyslav) The baroque Church of St. John the Baptist was consecrated on 24. 7. 1853.

Old Town Hall

(Černovice) In the square there used to be the Old Town Hall with Gothic elements with ribbing. The town was governed from here for almost 700 years. It was rebuilt into a cinema in 1966.

Statues of St. Wenceslas and St. John of Nepomuk

(Černovice) Statues of St. Wenceslas and St. John of Nepomuk have been located on the Pršín Bridge since 1924, when they were transferred from the bridge in front of the chateau where they had stood from 1730.

Baroque Church of the Ascension of the Virgin Mary

(Habry) The historical sights in Habry include, in particular, a baroque Church of the Ascension of the Virgin Mary, which was built here in 1384. The second most important sight is the St. Florián Sculptural Group from 1713, which is situated in front of the entrance to the church.

Baroque Chateau

(Habry) Other monuments include a baroque chateau, which was built around 1718, originally two-storied, which has been a school since 1992.

The Medieval Castle Orlík

(Humpolec) The medieval Orlík by Humpolec Castle was abandoned in the early part of the 17th century and the only original parts of the structure that have been preserved are the rectangular tower, the entry gate and the remains of the residential buildings and walls. There are newly built elements, which inc

The Sculptural Group and The Baroque Sculptures

(Jaroměřice nad Rokytnou) In the square there is the Sculptural Group of the Trinity and on the bridge across the Rokytná River there is a group of baroque sculptures - St. Mary Magdalene, St. John of Nepomuk, a Pieta, and St. John Sarkander.

The Church of St. Lawrence

(Bystřice nad Pernštejnem) The Church of St. Lawrence is the dominant feature of the town. It was founded in the 13th century. It was rebuilt many times over the centuries. It got its present form during reconstructions at the end of the 17th century. The two fore towers were built in 1750; during reconstructions after a fire

Series of renaissance and baroque houses

(Brtnice) Around the square there is a whole series of renaissance and baroque houses that document the developments in building and decorative elements from the beginning of the 17th century until the coming of the empire period. The town hall was built at the end of the 16th century.

The Chateau Church

(Brtnice) The builder of the original evangelical chapel, consecrated to St. Matthew in 1588, was Hynek Brtnický of Wallenstein. In 1629 the Collalto family began reconstruction according to the plans of architect G. B. Pieroni. The interior was reshaped and two chapels were added, which gave the church the

Renaissance Town Hall

(Brtnice) The building originated in the Middle Ages. The present form is based on the extensive Renaissance reconstruction in the second half of the 16th century. A castellated façade with attic gable, windows with Renaissance flanning, portals in the gateway and several rooms with ribbed vaults are preser

Parish Church of St. James the Greater

(Brtnice) It forms the dominant element of the town?s historical quarter. It was built around 1727 on Gothic foundations. A fire in 1760 destroyed it to such an extent that between 1776 and 1784 almost a whole new building had to be built. Rare artistic relics are to be found in the church. Among the most pr

The Church of the Holy Family

(Havlíčkův Brod) The Church of the Holy Family was built as a part of the Augustinian monastery between 1679 and 1705. Building work was started by the Italian builder Jan Baptista Dominik Canavalli and finished by the builder Daniel Měnický from Chrudim. On the northern side it is extended with a Chapel of the Ho

The Old Town Hall

(Havlíčkův Brod) The Old Town Hall on the southern side of the square is a valuable Renaissance building, reconstructed in the 17th century. The facade ends in battlements; in the Renaissance gable there is the so-called Death of Brod. According to legend this was the figure of a treacherous watchman called Hnát, w

The Historical Heart of theTtown

(Havlíčkův Brod) The historical heart of the town is an urban conservation area. Houses with gables are preserved around almost the whole square and in the adjoining alleys. The buildings were made of bricks as early as the 13th century.

The Church of St. Adalbert

(Havlíčkův Brod) The Church of St. Adalbert ? today reconstructed in late-Gothic style since the end of the 16th century, originally a Gothic church from the 13th century.

The Walls with Bastions

(Havlíčkův Brod) Preserved sections of walls with bastions belong to the fortifications from 1310 and from the last quarter of the 15th century, when the town had a double band of walls with a ditch.

Štáfl Bastion

(Havlíčkův Brod) The wall tower preserved from the original fortification. In the tower there are reminders of painter Otakar Štáfl, who worked in the city in the first half of the 20th century.

Plague Column and Fountain with the Figure of Triton

(Havlíčkův Brod) n the centre of the square there is a Plague Column from 1717 and a stone Koudela Fountain with the Figure of Triton ? apparently by the sculptor J. V. Prchal from the second half of the 18th century.

The New Town Hall

(Havlíčkův Brod) The New Town Hall, also called the Old Magistrate?s Office, dates from the 15th century. It was reconstructed in neo-baroque style at the end of the 19th century.

The Jaroslav Hašek Memorial

(Lipnice nad Sázavou) In the village under the castle bearing the same name there is the Jaroslav Hašek Memorial, in a house where Hašek spent his last years and where he wrote his most famous work ? The Good Soldier Švejk.

The Chateau Žďár nad Sázavou

The chateau, an extensive and numerous complex of buildings belonging to a former Cistercian monastery, is now the property of Dr. Radoslav Kinský. The baroque bridge over the Sázava, originating from 1760, leads to the chateau. It is decorated with eight statues of the saints. The former building

Castle Rokštejn

(Brtnice) Rokštejn The most common destination for walks around Brtnice are the romantic ruins in the valley of the river between the villages of Panská Lhota and Přímělkov (8 km from Brtnice). The castle dates from the second half of the 13th century. Its complex building development ranks it among imp

The Square

(Kamenice nad Lipou) The square is decorated with the Imperial Fountain, chiselled by the stonecutter Hraba of Jihlava in the mid-nineteenth century, the Statue of St. Wenceslas, installed by Marie Therrese of Goltz in 1765, the Memorial Tablet of the 750th anniversary of the town and the Memoria

Ruins of Ronov Castle

(Přibyslav) Located in a forested valley, 4 km east of the town.

The Parish Church of St. Martin

(Třešť) The Parish Church of St. Martin is the most ancient monument in the town. It was established in the 13th century. Its construction was completed in the 15th century and later it was reconstructed in baroque style. A local master bricklayer, Jakub Lysý, considerably contributed to this reconstructio

The Church of St. Kateřina

The Church of St. Kateřina was founded as a German Lutheran church in the 16th century. In the 18th century its presbytery was rebuilt. The inner furnishings of the church originate from the 19th century. On the outer wall there are two late Renaissance tombs..

The Former Manor - The Chateau

(Třešť) The former manor ? nowadays the Palace Hotel ? has undergone a complicated development. It is situated on the site of a medieval fortress that was totally changed beyond recognition by a number of reconstructions. In the 16th century a four-wing building with corner towers and arcades was built. In

Bridges

(Brtnice) The river Brtnice asserts itself in the scenery of the town in an unusual way. The baroque statues of saints to be seen on its bridges were executed by a native townsman, David Lipart, between 1715 and 1718. The city even features a bridge in its emblem. The so-called "Jewish" bridge is a curiosity.

The "U Zlatého lva" House

(Havlíčkův Brod) The "U Zlatého lva" House (The Golden Lion) with a built Gothic pillar built into the facade is the oldest pub in Havlíčkův Brod. Historical references to it date to the mid-sixteenth century.

The baroque Church of the Holy Trinity

(Havlíčkův Brod) At the end of the 19th century the city orchard was founded. At its border stands the baroque Church of the Holy Trinity, a site with a remarkable composition and a three-sided Chapel of the Holy Cross.

The Church of St. Catherine

(Havlíčkův Brod) The Church of St. Catherine ? built in Gothic style in the 13th century on the site of a former ford, later reconstructed, originally serving as a hospital church.

Jan Žižka of Trocnov Monument

(Přibyslav) Commemorates the place where this famous Hussite commander died on the 11th of October 1424 (around 3 km north of the town).

Church of the Holy Trinity

(Bystřice nad Pernštejnem) The Cemetery Church of the Holy Trinity was built in 1615 by Jan Čejka of Olbramovice. It was originally evangelical. After the Battle of the White Mountain it was closed and re-opened only in 1719.

Statue of T. G. Masaryk

(Bystřice nad Pernštejnem) In front of the T. G. Masaryk Elementary School there is a statue of T. G. Masaryk, created by Vincenc Makovský. It was unveiled in 1938. However, after two years it was removed and unveiled again after the Second World War. In 1961 it was removed once again. It returned to its pedestal for the thi

The Marian Column

(Černovice) Behind the church there is the Marian Column, which was brought here in the middle of the 1950s from the square, where it had stood from 1892. The column is to be put back in its original place in the square.

The Sight of Sacred

(Golčův Jeníkov) The Church of St. Francis the Seraphic dates from 1827. The Cemetery Church of St. Margaret was founded in the 14th century; on the northern side you can see remnants of a Gothic portal. The deanship was founded around 1657, originally serving as a Jesuit residence. Go

The Town Square

(Jihlava) The historical city centre is an urban conservation reserve. The sloping rectangular square is, thanks to its area (36,650 m2), one of the largest historical squares in the country. It is bordered with town houses on Gothic foundations. Furthermore, there is a baroque plague column and two stone fou

The Minorite Church of Assumption of Virgin Mary

(Jihlava) The Minorite Church of Assumption of Virgin Mary is one of the oldest stone buildings in the city. Inside the church is preserved in its original form (huge late-Romanesque pillars, fragments of Gothic paintings, statues of female saints).

Jesuit Church of St. Ignatius

(Jihlava) The interior of the Jesuit Church of St. Ignatius hosts an exceptionally precious sculpture: a Přemyslid cross from the beginning of the 14th century. Organ music concerts are regularly held in the church.

The City Walls and the Gate of Our Lady

(Jihlava) The City Walls were built around the emerging city shortly after its foundation. The three-kilometre fortifications was divided up by five gates, of which the Gate of Our Lady is preserved. The double wall tier was reconstructed into its baroque shape in the 17th century. The moat has been adapted i

Nová Cerekev

The Jewish town with is prayer hall originated here most likely around 1690. It is interesting that there was never an enclosed ghetto, but most of the houses were concentrated in the area surrounding the synagogue, and some stood on the town square. A number of the original Jewish houses have survi

Jewish Cemetery Pavlov

One of the smallest Jewish cemeteries in the Czech Republic is located in the tree undergrowth approximately 800 m outside of the town of Pavlov. It is believed to have been founded at the turn of the 19th century. Today, it has 27 surviving simple steles, which are scattered throughout the entire c

Jewish Synagogue Kamenice nad Lipou

The former synagogue was torn down in 1938. That year, a new synagogue was opened at the location of today's bus station. The new synagogue is considered to be the youngest Jewish synagogue in the Czech Republic. Currently, it is utilised as an evangelical prayer hall.

Mahler Jihlava Festival: Music of Thousands

The Music of Thousands music festival's series of concerts, vocal recitals, and other social events serves as a remembrance of the renowned Vysočina native: composer and conductor Gustav Mahler. This annual classical music festival began in 2002. It links all of the places related to Gustav Ma

Velké Meziříčí

It is believed that the first Jews came to Velké Meziříčí as early as the 15th century, with further significant settlement development occuring after the Thirty Years' War. A number of renowned rabbis were involved with the local yeshivah here, and in the 18th century, Jews made up one third o

Humpolec

Mention of a Jewish community in Humpolec can be found as early as the second half of the 17th century, however, the settlement did not become true Jewish town until the beginning of the 18th century. This compact Jewish ghetto was originally made up of approximately 30 houses with a small town squa

Jewish Cemetery Větrný Jeníkov

The local Jewish cemetery was established most likely in the first half of the 17th century, served as a burial site for Jews from the neighbouring towns of Úsobí and Herálec as well. Today, its area of 960 square metres includes almost 250 surviving gravestones, the oldest of which dates back to

Batelov

Židovská čtvrť v Batelově byla zmiňována od poloviny 15. století. Přišly sem také židovské rodiny, které byly vypovězeny z Jihlavy. V těch dobách byla pravděpodobně ustavena židovská obec, která ovšem od doby druhé světové války neexistuje. Situována byla na severovýchod

The Brady Family and Hana's Suitcase

(Nové Město na Moravě) Directly on Vratislavovo náměstí Square in Nové Město na Moravě stands house no. 13, which is closely tied to the Bradys, a Jewish family whose story circumnavigated the world as a reference for future generations. The tragic fate of eleven-year-old Hana Brady, who, during the years of the Naz

 
 
Vysočina Tourism, příspěvková organizace
Na Stoupách 3
P.O.BOX 85
586 01 Jihlava
IČO: 28263693
webmaster@vysocinatourism.cz
www.vysocinatourism.cz
  
Vysočina info  What to see  Trip Suggestions  Where to stay  What to do   
Basic information
Importatnt Figures
Vysočina Extremes
Vysočina Facts
Edition
Information centre
Heritage of the Past
Natural Sights
Worth Seeing
Towns
Museums and Galleries
Observation Towers
Historical cities
Lookout Towers
Gastronomy
Children's Attractions
Trip Suggestions
Summer activities
Winter activities

        

Spolufinancováno Evropskou unií z Evropského fondu pro regionální rozvoj.